Posted by: Matt and Jenna | February 12, 2010

Sick Boy :(

Let’s see…  Where to begin…

Eli woke up with a runny nose last Wednesday.  He slept poorly for a couple of nights, but other than that all was well and the runny nose seemed to be on the mend.  As of Tuesday morning he was feeling great!  He had a play date with a friend and took a bath with lots and lots of bubbles (see pics below)!  As bedtime approached he acted really sleepy and wanted me to hold him (unusual these days).  He actually fell asleep on my chest with lights and the TV on about an hour before his bedtime!  While this may be normal for some kiddos his age, it’s not for our little wild man.  He will only sleep in a dark room with a sound machine and no action.  At the time I thought it was just because he skipped his afternoon nap.  I was actually THRILLED that he fell asleep so I could hold him for a bit.  I’ve been trying to get a picture of him sleeping for months!  He is such a light sleeper and has only slept in his crib since he was about 4 or 5 months old.  I’ve unsuccessfully attempted sneaking into his room for a picture multiple times, so I was so excited that we had an opportunity to get a few shots of our “baby” with his sweet little eyes closed.  Little did I know I should NOT be excited about this sleepiness.

When I went to get our boy out of his crib Wednesday morning his little body was on fire, and he wouldn’t leave his pup pup and paci in his crib (He usually throws them back into his crib and tells them bye bye with lots of enthusiasm.)  Uh oh.  After his temp reached 104 mid morning, we made an afternoon doctor’s appointment.  The doc listened to his chest and back and was immediately alarmed.  After a negative flu test, a breathing treatment, and a diagnosis of pneumonia, I headed home with my sick sick boy.  If you’ve been around Eli for more than a few minutes you know that he NEVER stops.  Never!  Throughout the day on Wednesday, he slept on me on and off the entire day.  When I say all day, I mean that I had to get dressed with him asleep on my shoulder.  Seriously.  He didn’t walk and wouldn’t stand on his own two feet, which was so scary!  We put him to bed Tuesday night after a dose of antibiotic and just prayed that God would heal him.  One of us was up and down with him the entire night, so I didn’t have very high hopes for what yesterday morning would bring.

I went in to get the little boo, and although he was still snotty and quite warm, he popped up, threw his pup pup and paci, and said “bye bye!”  Yesssss!  He’s baaack!  By mid day yesterday the fever had broken and E was chasing Kelsey around trying to whack her with a roll of wrapping paper.  Woo hoo (Sorry Kels)!  While his left lung still has some healing to do, he’s definitely on the mend.  Thank you Jesus!  Now our biggest challenge is slowing him down enough to get well!

And because every post needs a pic or two…

Enjoying every moment of snuggling before we knew he was sick.

One. Content. Mommy.

Responses

  1. THANK YOU JESUS FOR TOUCHING OUR SWEET BOY!!!

  2. could that hair be any cuter!!!!!!!! love those pics. hope eli is feeling better now 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

