Posted by: Matt and Jenna | August 21, 2009

Carrot Cake from “Scratch”

Matt and I have this on-going joke that “scratch” must be the best and most versatile ingredient ever!  He wants to bottle “scratch” and sell it, since you can make anything from it.  Oh, I love my husband’s sense of humor!

Anyway, as Matt was recently rambling about how he would go about this endeavor, I realized that I’ve never made a cake from scratch!  I often make cookies, muffins, banana & blueberry bread, among other goodies from scratch, but I’ve never tried a cake on my own.  My mom says that I helped her bake cakes through the years, but I’m not sure that counts.  I wanted to prove to myself that I could make it happen!  My best friend from high school/college roommate, Jessica (Aunt Jessie as we now call her), has been in town from Nashville all week, so we decided to tackle the “Best Loved” Carrot Cake from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook together.  I think it could have risen a little higher, but all in all, it was a success!  We baked it Wednesday evening, and nearly the whole cake has been eaten.  I’m pretty impressed by this, since Matt claims that he doesn’t even like cake!

Here’s a picture documentation of our cake baking debut!

Professionals--watch out!

Professionals--watch out!

Aunt Jessie gettin' mean with the carrots.

Aunt Jessie gettin' mean with the carrots.

Finely shredding 3 cups of carrots was more tedious than we anticipated!

Finely shredding 3 cups of carrots was more tedious than we anticipated!

Eli happily standing by.

Eli happily standing by.

Laughing at Aunt Jessie shredding carrots.

Laughing at Aunt Jessie shredding carrots.

The supposed masterpiece!

The supposed masterpiece!

After Matt's sampling.

After Matt's sampling.

Eating off of our fine china for the first time.  Ha!  We recently unpacked it after buying a cabinet for it.  To prove how unfamiliar how household is with it, Matt called it crystal!

Eating off of our fine china for the first time. Ha! We recently unpacked it after buying a cabinet for it. To prove how unfamiliar our household is with it, Matt called it crystal! I should be ashamed of myself!

Responses

  1. Looks Great! I am impressed. Wish I had a piece to have with my coffee.

  2. Hey Jenna!
    Just checking out how things are going with the
    Daniel family!
    I love looking at yall’s photograpy!
    The cake looks great, and Eli is soooo precious!

    ~The Dixons

  3. You go girl! 😉 I don’t like carrot cake and I wanted to tear into it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

