Posted by: Matt and Jenna | July 22, 2009

Trip to Greenville, Weddings, Etc.

I feel that I need to catch you up to speed on the happenings of our little fam!  Therefore, this post will be “Matt” style.  When I first met Matt, I didn’t know what to make of his bullet point style emails.  I wasn’t sure if he was trying to present a business plan to me or what!  After several conversations and 6 years of getting to know one another, we usually type emails to each other in paragraph form, but when we have a lot to cover in a short amount of time (which always seems to be the case these days!), we both communicate “Matt” style.  So, here goes…

  • Our baby boy is going to be 8 months old tomorrow!  I feel this way every month, but I sincerely cannot believe it!  He’s crawling EVERYWHERE!  If we turn our heads for a second, he makes a mad dash for the toilet with the intention of pulling up and smacking the top of it.  mmm.  He’s also got some mean moves!  He got a hand-me-down activity table last week that plays music, and he immediately started bouncing and dancing the first time the music played.  So now his favorite thing is to stand in the living room, push the buttons, and dance—over and over.  And over.  I have to brag for a second and say that he even “dances” to the beat.  That’s my boy!  His obsession with dancing is hilarious and pretty convenient when I need to get things done.  I’ll post a video sometime soon, but it deserves its own post 
  • I’m working on becoming more independent with photography.  I always second shoot for weddings, but the way we work best for portraits is for Matt to be behind the camera with me communicating with the client, working with lighting, positioning, etc.  Since Matt is working ridiculously long hours between Blackbaud and photography, I’m trying to learn as much as I can so I can take on some work independently when needed.  So Eli  and I took off to Greenville last week for two solo shoots.  It was quite overwhelming for me, but I learned a ton and the boss seemed to be pretty pleased with the outcome.  E had a great time tagging along, playing in Nana and Papoo’s pool, hanging out with his buddy Zeke, eating grass in Falls Park downtown, visiting Papa’s goats, etc.  We had a blast, but we were anxious to get back home to Matt and Kels, sleep in our comfy beds, and have some downtime (if that exists with an 8 month old!).  
  • I feel like I say this every time I give an MDP update, but things have really taken off!  We have four weddings in the next three weeks, and each one is in a different city!  It’s going to be CRAZY, but we’re really looking forward to it!  Thank goodness for mommas.  One of our moms (Ellie or Mia) is going to step in to take care of Eli for each wedding.  I’m sure they’re really dreading it!  
  • Our prayer is that our photography business would continue to grow stronger, as that income is allowing me to stay home full-time with Eli.  Since we have no family in Charleston, we feel very strongly about the two of us being his primary influence at this point in his life.  Plus, we have really developed a joint passion for photography and love love love every job we get!  Please send people our way if they need any type of photography work done!  We’re completely willing to travel, so don’t let distance stand in the way.  We’ve done a little bit of everything recently–belly shots, new born sessions, engagement sessions, an actual proposal (which was really cool!), some unique commercial work that we thoroughly enjoyed, family portraits, and of course, weddings!  All of our work thus far has come our way through word of mouth, so thank you for spreading the word!  

Ok, so I pretty much wrote a full post for each bullet point.  I warned you that I had a lot to update you on.  But I think that’s it for now!  Thanks for checking in on us!  Here are some pics from our trip to Greenville.  Enjoy!

Hangin' with his great great grandfather, Papa. Pretty amazing, huh!?

Hangin' with his great great grandfather, Papa. Pretty amazing, huh!?

 

J and E Gville-1

Not loving the grass. He usually won't even touch it!

 

J and E Gville-2

"Well, maybe it's not so bad."

 

"Mom, you should puree this stuff!  It's awesome!

"Mom, you should puree this stuff! It's awesome!"

 

Eli and Mia at the Overlook Grill in Falls Park

Eli and Mia at the Overlook Grill in Falls Park

 

Eli: Dude, let me show you how to groove to this tune..  Zeke

Eli: Dude, let me show you how to groove to this funky tune. Zeke: Look, kid. I got this. Now let go of my shirt!

 

Swinging by the pool with Papoo, his great grandfather. Papoo always makes funny voices for Eli.

Swinging by the pool with Papoo, his great grandfather. Papoo always makes funny voices for Eli.

 

Eli and Uncle Zach--caption anyone?  I can't quite find the words.

Eli and Uncle Zach--caption anyone? I can't quite find the words.

 

And finally... showing a little too much skin.  Gotta love the trunks with no diaper.  I don't think Zach knew that part!

Gotta love the trunks with no diaper. I don't think Zach knew that part!

Responses

  1. Hey babe!

    You’re quite the post writer! Your posts are always more fun and entertaining than mine, even if this one was in ‘bullet’ format. 🙂

    And the shoots in Greenville were awesome! Folks, check them out at http://www.mdpblog.com!

    Love you!

    MD

  2. Matt & Jenna…we are so happy your photography business is taking off. Your work is AMAZING!! We tell everyone about you all.

    PS Eli is cuter than ever…if that is even possible.

  3. I love the post! We did have so much fun during the visit! Eli is changing & growing so fast & I treasure every minute with him & all my children (Matt, Jenna & Zach). Love you

  4. Even with all the wedding madness, never too busy to read a Daniel Family Blog post! I LOVE them! Jenna, the captions were pretty awesome for the pictures! 🙂 Thanks for the update! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

