Posted by: Matt and Jenna | December 6, 2008

to the fellas

There’s a guy whose blog I follow and a post he did recently has me thinking.  Here’s the bottom line of what I’ve been thinking:

Lead the family.  If you’re not growing, the family’s not growing.

I’ve always been one to wake up early and spend some time in the Word and writing in my journal, trying to capture what He’s trying to teach me.  But as of late, that’s been a little more difficult – wonder why.  🙂  Many mornings I’ve been too tired to think, but what excuse is that.  If I’m not waking each day with Him, laying down all my worries and replacing them with praise, then how can I set the pace for the family?

The truth is, fellas, that father or not, husband or not, we are all called to be leaders and are leaders in one way or another.  How are you stepping it up to be an example to those around you?  Are you sacrificing part of your seflish desires to develop your relationship with Him?  And in turn, develop your relationship with others??

This can be tough, as life often grabs our focus and pulls us away – I know it does with me.  So hold me accountable and let me know if I can do the same!

Make the most of every opportunity…
~Colossians 4:5-6

MD

Responses

  1. well put sir….thx for the shout out!

  2. This is a very wise observation, Matt. Families do
    need leaders, spiritual leaders. Living out our Faith and putting GODS Word and direction into
    play is a challenge. Recognizing the need to follow HIS guidance and wanting to follow HIM is
    the first step. Can’t wait to talk more over Christmas. I love you! Mom

  3. Very well said!


Leave a Reply

Categories

