Posted by: Matt and Jenna | November 4, 2008

Pregnant at the Poll

So…I’m not sure if the polls are as crowded everywhere as they are in Charleston, but things are CRAZY here!!  People throughout the day have waited anywhere from 1-5 hours to vote!  When we arrived at our designated location on Daniel Island, we were told that the wait would should be around 3 hours.  People kind of laughed under their breath as they saw me approach the line.  I didn’t think much about the being 38 weeks pregnant part; I don’t ever want to wait in line that long for anything!  Matt and I are not very “political,” but we felt obligated to make our best effort to stick it out, seeing as the next President will guide our country during the first 4 years of our son’s life.

After standing in line for about 30 minutes, a man asked when I am due.  When I told him, he told us to get our car and pull it up to the front door.  What??  Matt and I hopped out of line without really asking any questions.  We laughed as we walked to the car, since we weren’t really even sure if this old man who was smoking a Swisher Sweet, mind you, even worked at the poll.  But we took our chances and pulled up to the front door.  Shortly after, the voting machine was delivered to our car.  Voting complete.  Awesome! 

Well there you go.  Matt says we’ll be sure to be at least 8 1/2 months pregnant for the next election!  What can I say?  It pays to be huge!

Sidenote: Earlier today the manager at Wal-Mart jokingly instructed me to do my shopping quickly, because she didn’t want my baby to be born on her watch!  I’m sure I did the akward laugh, but how should one respond to that??

Responses

  1. Hey Matt and Jenna….just wanted to say I love your blog! I’m so excited for you both and can’t wait to see photos of your son. Matt – these pics are amazing – you have such a talent! Hope you are both enjoying this time in your lives.


Leave a Reply

Categories

