Posted by: Matt and Jenna | October 24, 2008

I’m gonna be a Dad…

I know this an obvious fact at this point, but me being a dad is still something that continues to blow my mind.  I know I’ll have my moments when I’ll wonder what we’ve gotten ourselves into, but the thought of being a dad, and all that comes with it, is one of the most exciting things I’ve ever felt!  I’ve been thinking recently: What do I want to try and teach him?  What can I teach him?  How old does he have to be to wrestle?  Will he love picking on his mom like I do?  Will he love spoiling his mom like I do?  Will I be able to guide him and challenge him to lead a Christ-filled life so he can go farther than I ever could???

We all have our role-models, those we look up to.  And given the circumstances, my Dad is someone I’ve been thinking a lot about.  I’ve been thinking about my childhood and my relationship with my Dad, and thinking about what I want to do different, and what I pray I will do the same.  And when it comes down to it, there is very little that I’d change.  When I sit back and think about my relationship with my Dad, or simply think about him, I think about a guy who saw the world through my eyes; a world with no limits.  For he instilled in me a passion for life, and the capability to pursue and to be all that I desire.  Everything has always been either a success or a learning experience – there is no failure.  With him behind me I knew, and know, that I can do anything.  And much of my excitement of being a father myself comes from my own relationship with my Dad.  I could go on and on…

So here I am, weeks, maybe days (?!?), away from being a dad myself…and I can’t wait!  I can’t wait to meet my son, see how he grows, and see how the Lord uses Jenna and I in his life.  What an adventure this is going to be!

MD

PS – Dad, I love you…you done good.

Responses

  1. Matt,
    Thru my tears of joy, what a great picture with my grandson’s precious nursery in the background! But, especially I want to comment on this amazing post. You are going to be a great Dad! Through the example that your Dad lived before you & with the quidance of your Heavenly Father, this will be the most exciting adventure yet! Parenthood is the greatest blessing & privilege. It is going to be a blessing for me to see You & Jenna experience raising your son & my grandson. I can’t wait & thank you Tom.
    Love,
    Tammy
    “Sons are a heritage from the Lord
    children a reward from Him” Psalms 127:3


Leave a Reply

Categories

