Posted by: Matt and Jenna | September 3, 2008

Photography

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and daydreaming about photography, and the possibilities it could potentially hold.  How far do I want to take this?  Could I eventually turn this into my full-time job?  Is that even what I want?  I’m not sure, and only time will tell.  But I do know I want to take it one step further!

The story…
I’ve always had a blast taking pictures.  It started with the Kodak disposable cameras, and then moved to my trusty Nikon 3.2 megapixel point and shoot.  And with both of those I developed some great prints!  But, just over a year ago, I purchased my first DSLR and have turned my simple love for taking pictures into a passion for photography.  And thus, the birth of Matt Daniel Photography [MDP].

I’m always reading articles, studying other photographer’s blogs, and seeing how else I can manipulate my camera to get a picture to come out just right.  And over the past year or so, while comparing my pictures now to my pictures then, it’s apparent how much I’ve learned.  Over the past year I’ve worked with several fun families, all of whom I’ll never forget, and with each shoot I walked away having learned something new, a process I’m sure will never end.  But those first ‘clients’ were more of a benefit to me then I ever was to them!  And because of those early lessons, and the present ones that continue to increase my competency, I’m ready to take MDP to the next level!

But a quick side note, as it’s one of the key pieces in the foundation of MDP, it’s important to note that while the love of and pursuit of photography is largely initiated by me, this is something that Jenna and I both enjoy and are passionate about.  Every shoot I’ve done Jenna has been there with me; we’ve been a team.  And as we try to grow MDP we daydream about the opportunities it could bring not only me, but for us!  But I’ll save that tangent for another post…

What’s next?  I’m in the process of creating a few ads to try and market myself a little more heavily.  In the past, I’ve strictly worked off of word-of-mouth.  And while word-of-mouth is a powerful tool, there are still other avenues I need to get myself plugged into.  Also, I’m hoping to drop my VIRB site and create an actual mattdanielphotography.com.  I’ve been thinking about this, and wanting to make it happen for a while.  But as I’ve tried to let MDP’s revenue pay for all its expenses, I’ve stuck to the freebies.  But I’m looking forward to the day when I have my own site!  Because it’s getting close!  Beyond that… I’m simply taking this – MDP – one day at a time, letting my ideas grow and not restricting them to my current limitations.  Afterall, a lot has changed in the past year, and who knows where we’ll be this time next year!

Finally, what would a Photography post be without some pictures?  We swung by a friends’ house last night (the Crawfords) and snapped a few pics.  It was a very spur-of-the-moment deal and the pictures came out great!
Check out the pictures HERE
Check out the Crawfords HERE

Have a great night and let me know if you ever want to talk MDP or photography!
MD

Responses

  1. Excellent post, md. Thanks for including all of us in your passion! And excellent Crawford pics.
    How are you thinking about setting up your website? I’m curious to see how it pans out! I have good feelings about MDP.

  2. Matt,
    I am a friend of your parents. I have a friend here in Montgomery who has launched a booming photography business and she got her start taking classes online at http://www.ppsop.com. She has six kids and this will be here third business so the woman has it going on. She said the classes and instructors were incredible but she also said that the network she created with the other students was invaluable. I thought you might find it interesting.

    Good Luck!
    Patti Joyner


Leave a Reply

Categories

