Posted by: Matt and Jenna | August 18, 2008

Monday afternoon…

It’s Monday afternoon and for the past week or so we’ve been super busy.  Need-less-to-say, every evening I’ve come home from work only to turn around and leave again.  However, this evening has been quite the contrary…A glass of Cab, a book, and a thunderstorm booming out an open window.  Not bad.  Not bad at all.

Since I’m here…
Peanut is growing like crazy.  I’ve been able to feel him “thump” for several weeks now, but the other day I felt a LIMB!  As I pushed on Jenna’s belly I felt something huge: a foot, a head…something…push back!  It made me jump because it was huge!  I just looked at Jenna and we both started laughing.  I can’t wait to hold the little guy and play with him.  While I’m sure I’ll have some sort of “panic-attack” in November, I can’t wait for him to get here! 

Jenna and I are learning so much.  So much so I can’t even comprehend all that’s coming our way.  (The ‘drinking from the fire hydrent’ analogy comes to mind.)  And much of what I am learning has to do with my perspective on life.  For those of you who know me, you know I am a planner.  And while I typically like to walk with a plan, I’m learning to walk through each day focusing only on that day.  Now don’t get me wrong, I prepare for the days to come, but when it comes to problems, worries, or things I have zero control over, I’m simply taking things one day at a time.  Because how often do we sweat over the uncontrollable and the unlikely?  For me…too often.  (Check out Matthew 6:34)  So I’m trying to wake up each day looking forward to the day’s opportunities and the fun the day is going to bring.  And you know what, it’s pretty freeing! 

MD

Responses

  1. COOL PICTURE!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

