Posted by: Matt and Jenna | July 17, 2008

Good days, and bad days…

An old friend of mine made a post on his BLOG today about some recent A/C trouble he has been having at his house.  While the post contained a few wise-cracks and a couple justified complaints, the focus was anything but self-centered…

Over the past several months JD and I feel like we’ve been through the ringer; there has been one thing after another – flood, infestations, broken fridge, computer, water heater…  But without going into the details, well, maybe one for kicks in a minute, I want to mention that it’s so easy to get caught up in your troubles and frustrations and completely miss the bigger picture.  Because while I haven’t yet determined the reason for everything going on, I know there is a reason.  For one, the craziness has brought Jenna and I so much closer…so much more than if things were simply “easy”.  The other day I received a phone call at work.  The issue for this particular week was flies – our house was infested with them – and in the evening I would walk around the house with a dish towel striking the life out of the new occupants of our once peaceful home.  Well, on this particular day, Jenna had had enough.  Because when I say fly infestation, we’re not talking about 3 or 4 flies, but dozens!!  So I pick up the phone to a crazed voice saying…Matt I can’t take it anymore! Anyway, to make a long story short, a bottle of Raid later, no more flies!  Although I wasn’t there, I can just picture Jenna and Kelsey running throughout the house blasting anything that moved.

Two, and this is something I say with pride, our faith has only grown and has not wavered once.  Yes, it has been tired on occasion, but not once have we blamed God for our misfortunes.  “We take the good days from God – why not also the bad days?”  (Job 2 :10)  I guess it could be considered a bad thing that I’m quoting Job…?  But so far, him and I…we’re on the same page.  And I like how he describes suffering as a “mystery”.  Because in reality, it is a mystery.  And many times, suffering is only a present predicament, not a life-long dilemma.  How many times have you been through something rough, only to look back and say that if you had the chance to do things over again, you would?  So…

Amidst the uncertainties, the frustrations, and the troubles of life, make sure you pause to think about what really might be going on.  Because as I worked on my water heater’s thermocouple last night (thermocouple…what the H is a thermocouple???) I thought to myself, this is a “Dad-Prep” moment.  Because dads can do anything…you tighten a screw as tight as you can, and dad can give it one more turn…the dern lawnmower just won’t start, dad can get’er runnin’.  I don’t know why I’m going through the things we’ve gone through, but they’re preparing me for something and I’ll be stronger for it!

MD

Responses

  1. “God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks to us in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: It is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.” – CSL
    …kind of dramatic, but can suit a trying situation… Good update!


Leave a Reply

Categories

